If you suffer work-related injuries in Maryland, you may be entitled to compensation from your employer. The laws provide certain benefits intended to assist with your recovery and return to work. Maryland Workers’ Compensation claims can sometimes take years to resolve and often result in multiple hearings.
Anthony W. Rogers has over 20 years of experiencing litigating Maryland Workers Compensation cases. Here are the basic details you need to know if you may have a claim.
What is Workers Compensation?
Maryland Workers’ Compensation states, “Since the early 1900’s, every State has had some form of protection for employees who are hurt while working. The old system requiring lawsuits against employers just wasn’t effective. Negligence by the employer was often difficult if not impossible to prove and the legal process was very time consuming and expensive, with no benefits paid to injured workers during the process. This is why the States passed workers’ compensation laws, providing a statutory solution to the problem. Workers’ compensation was a new kind of insurance which all employers were required to obtain to protect their employees.”
Do I have a claim?
Not all injuries are covered by the Workers’ Compensation Law even if the injury happened “on the job.” In Maryland, in order for an injury to be covered, the harm suffered by the employee must have been caused by an “accidental personal injury arising out of and in the course of employment.” Also, claims must be filed within the period of limitations. Generally, the limit is 2 years for accidental injury claims or up to 3 years of an occupations disease claim.
What are the fees involved?
Costs in all workers compensation cases, of course, cannot be avoided. There are costs for medical records, evaluations by doctors for evidence among other costs but we try to keep them to a minimum as we generally advance costs in all cases we take. Last, attorney fees are regulated by COMAR and are also subject entirely to the determination of the Commission. In other words, you cannot be charged a fee unless it is awarded and determined in accordance with the COMAR regulations by a Commissioner. These fees are charged in connection with TTD/TPD, PPD/PTD hearings or through the settlement process. Many hearings and issues do not provide for a fee.
Do I need a workers’ compensation lawyer?
You are not required to hire a Workers Compensation lawyer to handle your claim, but it can help ensure full protection of your rights. Maryland workers’ compensation lawyers have expertise in the relevant laws and have a deep understanding of the process.
If you need an attorney for a Maryland Workers Compensation claim, you need to call Anthony Rogers. There is no fee for an initial consultation. Let us help explain the legal process and consult you on your case. Call us today to schedule an appointment at either our Keyser, WV or Cumberland, MD office.